Emergency is a feature that allows you to notify your monitoring team that you need help.
Two things happen when you tap the Emergency button:
- Your phone goes into Emergency Mode. In Emergency mode, your location will be continuously shared in real time with your monitoring team (even if the Tracking feature was turned off). The home screen border turns red during Emergency mode.
- Your monitoring team will receive an Alarm, which is a type of notification that they must acknowledge. When they acknowledge it, you will receive a notification.
Because of the fact that Emergency activates real time continuous location sharing, it is one of the features that consumes a noticeable amount of battery power if you leave it running for more than an hour.
You can disable Emergency by tapping the Disable button:
When you Disable Emergency, your phone will go back to the mode it was in before Emergency mode. So if the Tracking feature is off, then the real time location sharing of Emergency mode will end.
Your monitoring team will still have to acknowledge your Emergency, and so you will receive a notification about the acknowledgement when that happens.
Your monitoring team can also remotely disable Emergency mode. They may do this at the same time as acknowledging your Emergency.
Article is closed for comments.