One of the actions your monitoring team can take after you activate Emergency is to remotely disable ('reset') Emergency mode.
They may decide to do this once they have acknowledged your Emergency, know where you are, and want to help you save power on your phone (Emergency mode continually shares your location with your monitoring team and so uses battery power).
You'll receive a notification when this happens ('Panic Reset').
Like all remote management features, you need an internet connection for this to happen. If you don't have an internet connection at the time your monitoring team performs this action, then Emergency will be disabled when you connect back to the internet, if you have not already disabled it yourself by that time.